Result: Rafael Nadal eases into Monte Carlo Masters semi-finals

Rafael Nadal in action at the Monte Carlo Masters on April 13, 2016
Nine-time Monte Carlo Masters champion Rafael Nadal eases into the semi-finals of the competition with a straight-sets win over Diego Schwartzman.

Rafael Nadal has booked his place in the semi-finals of the Monte Carlo Masters courtesy of a straight-sets victory over Diego Schwartzman this evening.

The Spaniard continued his dominance at the event with a 6-4 6-4 triumph, setting up a last-four showdown with David Goffin, who beat Novak Djokovic earlier today.

The nine-time and reigning champion got off to a shaky start when Schwartzman broke to love in the very first game, but Nadal hit straight back and won the next four games in a row to take control of the opener.

Schwartzman was able to restore parity via another break in the seventh game but Nadal was soon back on top and wrapped up the first set 6-4 with one more win against the serve in the final game.

It was a similar story in the second set too, with two breaks apiece leaving the score at 5-4 to Nadal and the world number 41 serving to stay in the match.

Nadal finished as his opponent had started the match, though, breaking to love to seal his progress into the semi-finals.

Rafael Nadal exclaims to the heavens after making it through to the third round of the US Open on September 3, 2015
Read Next:
Rafael Nadal hits back at critics
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray11,690
2Serbia Novak Djokovic8,085
3Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,695
4Switzerland Roger Federer5,125
5Spain Rafael Nadal4,235
6Canada Milos Raonic4,165
7Japan Kei Nishikori4,010
8Croatia Marin Cilic3,565
9Austria Dominic Thiem3,385
10Belgium David Goffin2,975
11France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,915
12Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov2,880
13Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,870
14Lucas Pouille2,516
15United States Jack Sock2,450
16Australia Nick Kyrgios2,425
17France Gael Monfils2,410
18Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,145
19Albert Ramos-Vinolas2,135
20Pablo Carreno Busta2,025