Result: Lewis Hamilton title hopes dealt huge blow in Malaysia

Lewis Hamilton stops on circuit during qualifying for the European Formula One Grand Prix at Baku City Circuit on June 18, 2016
© Getty Images
Daniel Ricciardo wins the Malaysian Grand Prix for his first victory in two years, taking advantage of Lewis Hamilton's engine issues which forced him to withdraw.

Lewis Hamilton was forced to retire from the Malaysian Grand Prix while in the lead due to an engine failure, allowing Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg to extend his advantage in the drivers' standings.

The Englishman was in control until smoke poured from his car on the 43rd lap, leading to cries of disappointment over the radio as he was made to withdraw at the Sepang International Circuit.

Rosberg took advantage by finishing third to take his lead at the top to 23 points with just five races to go, but victory was claimed by Daniel Ricciardo in Malaysia for the Red Bull driver's first triumph in two years.

Ricciardo kept his cool to beat Max Verstappen in a Red Bull one-two in another thrilling race, although the key talking point was undoubtedly Hamilton's latest engine failure which cost him dearly.

Having edged into the lead at the first corner, the 31-year-old was all smiles as Rosberg was clipped by Sebastian Vettel in an apparent sign that things were going to fall his way.

That did not prove to be the case, though, as Rosberg soon climbed back through the field and Hamilton suffered internal combustion engine failure on a potentially decisive morning of action in Malaysia.

1. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
3. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
5. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
6. Sergio Perez (Force India)
7. Fernando Alonso (McLaren)
8. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
9. Jenson Button (McLaren)
10. Jolyon Palmer (Renault)
11. Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)
12. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)
13. Felipe Massa (Williams)
14. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Ross)
15. Pascal Wehrlein (Manor)
16. Esteban Ocon (Manor)
DNF. Felipe Nasr (Sauber)
DNF. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
DNF. Esteban Gutierrez (Haas)
DNF. Kevin Magnussen (Renault)
DNF. Romain Grosjean (Haas)
DNF. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

Nico Rosberg leaves the stage behind Lewis Hamilton during a press conference for the kickoff of the new Formula 1 season in Fellbach, south-western Germany, on March 11, 2016
Read Next:
Mercedes duo dominate Malaysia practice