Kevin Magnussen welcomes Copenhagen's 2020 GP project

Kevin Magnussen of Renault in the paddock during previews ahead of the Formula One Grand Prix of Russia at Sochi Autodrom on April 28, 2016
© Getty Images
Kevin Magnussen welcomes news in Denmark that an F1 race in Copenhagen is in the works for 2020.

Kevin Magnussen has welcomed news in Denmark that a Formula 1 race in Copenhagen is in the works for 2020.

The local BT newspaper said that Danish businessman Lars Seier Christensen met this week in London with F1's new owners Liberty Media about a potential deal.

"Before anything," he said, "it was important to achieve the political will and support of Liberty Media.

"It was a very positive meeting in London, and now I will spend the next six months systematically gathering the necessary investors."

The report said that a street layout, passing city landmarks, would be headed by F1 track designer Hermann Tilke.

"Tilke says it would not be a problem to construct an exciting track in the middle of Copenhagen," Christensen confirmed.

Danish F1 driver Magnussen said when told about the plans: "Oh wow, how cool! I really hope they manage to bring Formula 1 to Copenhagen."

The government may also be on board, with industry minister Brian Mikkelsen saying: "When we go public with plans, it is because it looks more and more realistic.

"I think Formula 1 would be tremendous branding for Copenhagen."

Next year's championship will see the reintroduction of the French Grand Prix as the number of races rises to 21.

Formula 1 boss Bernie Ecclestone walks in the paddock before the first practice session at the Yas Marina circuit in Abu Dhabi on November 27, 2015
Read Next:
Ecclestone: 'Liberty making broadcasters unsettled'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull137
4Force India79
6Toro Rosso33
1Sebastian VettelFerrari153
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes139
3Valtteri BottasMercedes111
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull92
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari73
6Max VerstappenRed Bull45
7Sergio PerezForce India44
8Esteban OconForce India35
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso29
10Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes20
11Nico HulkenbergRenault18
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes17
13Kevin MagnussenHaas11
14Romain GrosjeanHaas10
15Pascal WehrleinSauber5
16Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
17Fernando AlonsoMcLaren2
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren0
19Jolyon PalmerRenault0
20Marcus EricssonSauber0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0