Result: Valtteri Bottas wins Austrian Grand Prix

Valtteri Bottas of Williams in the paddock during previews ahead of the Formula One Grand Prix of Russia at Sochi Autodrom on April 28, 2016
© Getty Images
Mercedes' Valtteri Bottas wins the Austrian Grand Prix ahead of Sebastian Vettel, with Lewis Hamilton missing out on a place on the podium.

Valtteri Bottas has won the Austrian Grand Prix ahead of Sebastian Vettel, with Lewis Hamilton missing out on a place on the podium.

The Finn fought off stiff competition from Vettel to lead from start to finish at the Red Bull Ring, claiming just the second Grand Prix triumph of his career.

There was also a battle going on between third and fourth, where Daniel Ricciardo was able to hold off Hamilton to complete the podium as the Brit lost more ground on Vettel in the Drivers' Championship.

Vettel now leads Hamilton - who began the race in eighth - at the top of the championship by 20 points, while his Ferrari teammate Kimi Raikkonen crossed the line in fifth.

Max Verstappen and Fernando Alonso crashed out in a dramatic first lap which also saw Vettel accuse Bottas of a jump start, although the Finn was later cleared by stewards.

Austrian Grand Prix results:

1. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
2. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
4. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
6. Romain Grosjean (Haas)
7. Sergio Perez (Force India)
8. Esteban Ocon (Force India)
9. Felipe Massa (Williams)
10. Lance Stroll (Williams)
11. Jolyon Palmer (Renault)
12. Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren)
13. Nico Hulkenberg (Renault)
14. Pascal Wehrlein (Sauber)
15. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)
16. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
DNF Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)
DNF Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
DNF Fernando Alonso (McLaren)
DNF Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

Romain Grosjean of Haas F1 in the paddock ahead of the Formula One Grand Prix of China at Shanghai International Circuit on April 17, 2016
Read Next:
Grosjean admits eye on Ferrari vacancy
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull152
4Force India89
6Toro Rosso33
1Sebastian VettelFerrari171
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes151
3Valtteri BottasMercedes136
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull107
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari83
6Sergio PerezForce India50
7Max VerstappenRed Bull45
8Esteban OconForce India39
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso29
10Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes22
11Romain GrosjeanHaas18
12Nico HulkenbergRenault18
13Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Pascal WehrleinSauber5
16Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
17Fernando AlonsoMcLaren2
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren0
19Jolyon PalmerRenault0
20Marcus EricssonSauber0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0