Leicester City's Riyad Mahrez named PFA Player of the Year

Riyad Mahrez celebrates scoring Leicester's second from the penalty spot against Everton on December 19, 2015
© Getty Images
Leicester City's Riyad Mahrez is named the PFA Player of the Year for the 2015-16 season after beating teammate Jamie Vardy and Tottenham's Harry Kane to the prize.

Leicester City's Riyad Mahrez has been named the PFA Player of the Year for the 2015-16 season.

The 25-year-old has become the first ever African player to win the award after beating Leicester teammate Jamie Vardy and Tottenham Hotspur's Harry Kane to the main prize.

Mahrez has scored 17 goals and registered 11 assists in the Premier League this season, with the attacker's form a key contributor to Leicester's position at the top of the table with three games left.

The latest of Mahrez's goals came on Sunday afternoon when he struck in his team's 4-0 win over Swansea City.

The Algerian international, who has been linked with Barcelona over the last few months, is believed to have cost Leicester in the region of £400,000 from Le Havre in 2014.

Riyad Mahrez celebrates scoring the opening goal during the Premier League match between Leicester City and Swansea on April 24, 2016
Read Next:
Riyad Mahrez calls for Leicester "focus"
1Leicester CityLeicester362211364343077
2Tottenham HotspurSpurs361913467283970
4Manchester CityMan City361971068383064
5Manchester UnitedMan Utd35179943311260
6West Ham UnitedWest Ham351514660431759
10Stoke CityStoke36139143852-1448
13Swansea CitySwansea361110153750-1343
14West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom361011153246-1441
16Crystal Palace36109173646-1039
17Newcastle UnitedNewcastle3689193964-2533
19Norwich CityNorwich3587203561-2631
RAston Villa3637262772-4516