Leigh Griffiths named PFA Scottish Player of the Year

Leigh Griffiths of Celtic celebrates his goal during the Scottish premiership match between Kilmarnock and Celtic at Rugby Park on August 12, 2015
© Getty Images
Celtic striker Leigh Griffiths is named the PFA Scottish Player of the Year, while Rangers boss Mark Warburton scoops the Manger of the Year award.

Celtic striker Leigh Griffiths has won the PFA Scottish Player of the Year award for the first time.

The 25-year-old has scored 39 goals for the Bhoys this season, the latest of which came on Saturday in a 3-1 victory over Hearts that effectively wrapped up a fifth straight title for the club.

Griffiths fought off competition from Dundee duo Kane Hemmings and Greg Stewart in addition to Aberdeen's Jonny Hayes to add the award to the FWA Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year gongs he won in 2013.

He becomes the third Celtic player in a row to win the award, and teammate Kieran Tierney was also honoured at the ceremony by winning the young player's prize.

Rangers boss Mark Warburton was named the manager of the year in his maiden campaign having steered the Ibrox outfit to the Scottish Challenge Cup, the Scottish Championship title and the Scottish Cup final.

That success also helped to earn Rangers skipper Lee Wallace the Scottish Championship Player of the Year award.

Rangers manager Mark Warburton arrives at the ground during the Scottish Championships match between Greenock Morton FC and Rangers at Cappielow Park on September 27, 2015 in Greenock, Scotland.
Read Next:
Rangers promoted to Premiership
4St Johnstone38168145855356
6Ross County38146185561-648
7Inverness Caledonian ThistleInverness381410145448652
9Partick Thistle381210164150-946
10Hamilton AcademicalHamilton381110174263-2143
RDundee UnitedDundee Utd3887234570-2528