Andre Gray named Championship Player of the Year

Andre Gray of Burnley during the Sky Bet Championship match between Bristol City and Burnley at Ashton Gate on August 29, 2015
© Getty Images
Burnley striker Andre Gray is named the Championship Player of the Year having scored 24 goals in the second tier this season.

Burnley striker Andre Gray has been named the Championship Player of the Year at the 2016 Football League Awards.

The 24-year-old has been a key member of Burnley's push for promotion back to the Premier League this season, scoring 22 goals in 37 games for the Clarets.

Gray also scored twice for Brentford in August before moving to Turf Moor, with his overall tally of 24 for the season seeing him top of the Championship goalscoring charts.

The striker beat former Brentford teammate Alan Judge and Fulham's Ross McCormack to the award, which was voted for by managers of the Football League clubs.

Gray was also named in the Team of the Season, which is selected from players from all three divisions in the Football League.

The League One Player of the Year award went to Gillingham midfielder Bradley Dack, while Oxford United's Kemar Roofe was named the best player in League Two.

Bradley Dack of Gillingham tackles Mehdi Abeid of Newcastle United during the Capital One Cup second round match on January 24, 2015
Read Next:
Bristol City make Bradley Dack bid?

1Manchester CityMan City86111981119
3Tottenham HotspurSpurs8530134918
7Manchester UnitedMan Utd8422138514
9Crystal Palace8323119211
12West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom824298110
13Leicester CityLeicester8224814-68
15West Ham UnitedWest Ham8215917-87
16Hull City8215820-127
18Stoke CityStoke8134716-96
19Swansea CitySwansea8116815-74