City-based T20 tournament to be introduced from 2018

A general view of Headingley cricket ground during day one of the LV County Championship division One match between Yorkshire and Warwickshire at Headingley on August 02, 2013
© Getty Images
A proposal to introduce an eight-team city-based Twenty20 competition into English domestic cricket passes by 16 votes to three.

A new eight-team city-based Twenty20 competition is to be introduced into English domestic cricket from 2018.

The tournament will run in addition to the current 18-team T20 Blast after a proposal passed by 16 votes to three.

England and Wales Cricket Board chiefs are hopeful that the new event - one of five options on the table - will offer a serious rival to Australia's Big Bash League and the Indian Premier League.

ECB chairman Colin Graves said in a statement: "We've all been looking at how we can use domestic T20 for an even bigger purpose, especially getting more young people to play. This format was invented here and is successful worldwide.

"It can excite new fans, attract the best players and fuel the future of the game, on and off the pitch. The need to grow interest and participation in the game we love is at the core of our thinking, and this is a rigorous process. We've talked to each county individually about the need for change, a range of potential options and the implications.

"There's a constructive dialogue with county chairmen and chief executives, the MCC and PCA and now agreement to move forward and further develop this approach. The next steps for us all, as a game, will be to extend the discussions and get valuable input from players, members and other key voices across the game."

Surrey, Kent and Sussex are understood to be the three votes against the move, although it is anticipated that a further formal agreement may be needed to facilitate the city-based innovation.

A general view of the wicket during day one of the Third Test match between England and India at the Oval on August 9, 2007
Read Next:
Changes made to County Championship