Result: New Zealand beat Australia by eight runs to claim second win in World T20

Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson in action during the third ODI between New Zealand and Pakistan on January 31, 2016
© Getty Images
New Zealand win their second match of the World T20 tournament by beating Australia by eight runs in India.

New Zealand have claimed their second win in the World T20 tournament by beating Australia by eight runs in Dharamsala.

The Black Caps went into bat first after winning the toss, and it was a decent opening partnership as Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson scored a combined 61 runs before the former was dismissed on 39.

Guptill's knock, which he hit off 27 balls, was the highest score of the innings, while Kane Williamson contributed with 24 off 20 deliveries.

James Faulkner and Glenn Maxwell were among the wickets as they took two apiece to help restrict New Zealand to 142-8 after 20 overs.

In reply, Australia's big-hitters Steven Smith and David Warner had disappointing spells at the crease as they scored six runs each.

Opener Usman Khawaja top-scored with 38 runs before he was run out, but it was New Zealand who impressed on the field as they took nine wickets.

Australia could only reach 134 runs in 20 overs.

James Faulkner bats during an Australian Nets session at Adelaide Oval on December 2, 2013
Read Next:
Hamstring injury rules out Faulkner