MX23RW : Tuesday, October 27 11:08:45| >> :600:753402:753402:

Which IPL teams are currently the most successful?

Which IPL teams are currently the most successful?

Cricket is the most followed game in India. It has a national presence, an organised federation and has grassroots presence all over the country. By size and stature, it is among the most followed Twenty20 cricket championship in the world. It has changed its face over the years, but the current format was introduced in 2008. This article tries to shed some light on milestones covered by different teams for the last 12 years.

Structure of the League

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) took up the double round-robin structure. Teams meet each other twice throughout the league period and the team that records the most wins is declared the winner. However, there are playoffs to ascertain promotions into the top flight league, the IPL. The demotions and promotions to the IPL have seen many teams come and go, increasing the competition to stay in the league. Cumulatively, a total of 13 teams have played in the IPL.

Successful Teams in the IPL

Classification of success in the league is the number of times a team has been crowned as champions.

One Time Champions

1) Rajasthan Royals

They are the inaugural winners on the IPL. Originally from Jaipur, Rajasthan, the team has enjoyed top-flight cricket, save for 2016 and 2017 when it was suspended.

2) Deccan Chargers (DC)

They are one of the founding teams of the IPL from Hyderabad City. Although they finished last in the inaugural competition, the Deccan Chargers dusted themselves off and won the second league the following year, 2009. However, the team dissolved in 2012 due to player indiscipline.

3) Sunrise Hyderabad (SRH)

Also from Hyderabad City, they were founded after the dissolution of DC in 2012. SRH won the IPL in 2016 and came in second two years later.

Two Times Champions

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

They are one of the teams who have played in the league since inception. Their home city is Kolkata. The KKRs won the league in 2012 and 2014.

Three Times Champions

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Although they have just won the league three times, the CSK is the most consistent team in the league. They have never gone beyond third position in the rankings. In the pioneer league, they came in as the first runners up - a fate they repeated in 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2019. The only time they fell behind was in 2014 when they registered third position. However, they were banned for two years (2016 to 2017) but came back to win the league in 2018. The other two times the CSK won the IPL was in 2010 and 2011.

Other records held by CSK include the highest winning percentage in the league - 101 out of 167 (61%)

The Most Successful IPL Club

Mumbai Indians (MI)

The MIs have raked in four league trophies - 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019. The 2019 edition was the battle of titans when they tipped the CSK to break the tie. Mumbai Indians have enjoyed top-flight cricket since its inception, registering mixed results along the way. Their worst run was in 2009 when they finished seventh. However, they bounced back the following year and finished as the first runners up. Since then, they have been oscillating between fourth, fifth and first. To cup it up, the MIs are the team with the most game played and cumulative wins in the league - 188 and 107 respectively.

Other Impressive Teams in the IPL

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

They might not have been crowned winners, but they have an emulative record. Throughout their 12 years of stay in the IPL, they have never been relegated. They finished runners up three times - a fate only surpassed by the CSK - and second runners up twice.


India is the powerhouse in cricket gaming in the world. Whatever is best there is among the best in the world. Any IPL cricket betting related information and betting tips can be accessed on The site has the leading bookmakers on cricket betting, tips and strategies all about cricket in 2020. ID:418540:cQx
Share this article now:
Did you know...?
Adil Rashid pictured for England on September 8, 2020
Read Next:
Adil Rashid signs white-ball contract extension with Yorkshire for 2021 season
Latest Sports Video